The First Sentence: My Way In

The Way In

I was in front-crawl mode, eager to keep my place in a crowded fast lane, when the first line came to me.  I had searched for it for months, and though I kept trying to generate ideas that might make for an exciting book,  I couldn’t find the right place to start.  And then there it was: six beautiful words, bubbling into my brain mid-stroke.  In truth, these words are far from eloquent and I may have to delete them on a later draft.  But at this moment, they are the voice of my main character, a sentence for how she introduces herself to me, her writer.  I sit down at my computer and sure enough, six words produce 28 pages before I need to come up for air.

About pjsarahcollins

teacher, author, reader
This entry was posted in Writing Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

